John 13:33-35

New International Version (NIV)

   33“My children, I will be with you only a little longer. You will look for me, and just as I told the Jews, so I tell you now: Where I am going, you cannot come.  34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

We have been looking into what we need to do to “Prepare for the New Year”.  First, we “Should Seek The Lord’s Shelter”, and second, “Don’t Miss Opportunities God Has For You”.  Today as i read God’s word He calls us to “Love One Another”.  We should make it a point to really start the New Year right in God’s eyes and we can start by loving.  In our verse today Jesus is speaking with his disciples and He is preparing them for his absence.  He is calling us to imitate him, “Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”  Jesus is calling us to love and He is not just calling us to give lip service either.  To love, first, we must be honest with one another.  This new year lets look forward to showing love by being honest.  Second, to love we must Respect each other.  By respecting each other we esteem other and give them a sense of worth.  I want to feel that can you imagine how people would react if you treated them with respect.  Lastly, let us care for others, what is caring?  The definition is giving serious attention to or heed.  To care there is an urgency to love someone.  As Jesus is calling us to Love One Another let us remember these three key points to love.  If we do them we will definitely be in obedience to the One who Loved us First. 

John 15:12
My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you

John 14:21 (MSG) 

21“The person who knows my commandments and keeps them, that’s who loves me. And the person who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and make myself plain to him.”

Prayer:  God thank you for loving me, help me to love others more this new year.  I want to keep your commandments, help me to keep them.  your word says: I can do all things through Christ.” God give me that strength I need to this.  You are an awesome God, guide me in all I do. Amen

