Psalm 9:9 (NIV)
9 The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed,
   a stronghold in times of trouble.

Merry Christmas to all of you.  I pray that you and your family had a wonder Christmas together and are looking forward to a happy New Year.  I want us in these next few day leading to the New Year, is to prepare our lives for what God is going to do in them.  Today we are looking at a Psalm that David wrote because he wanted to praise God for what He has done in his life.  God gave him victory over his enemies and he continues to pray for his own deliverance.  But I love verse 9, “The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, and a stronghold in time of trouble.  This is such a great promise given to us.  Many of us including me have gone through something tragic in our lives and have had to really rely on God this last year.  And David is giving us a glimpse of who God is and what he will do for us.  Refuge is shelter or protection from danger.  David is telling us “God is a shelter who protects us from danger.  When life is beating us up and in those times we think there is no way out, and life is just so rough, and you want to scream so loud we can run to God.  Such a beautiful picture of God-loving us.  David also uses the word “Stronghold”, which means a “well fortified place.  Meaning as we run to God for shelter and protection there is nothing that can take us away from him.  As we look to the new year let us remember that in times of trouble lets run to our Lord who protects us.

Prayer: God help me today remember that when I find myself in times of trouble that we can rely on you and know that in your arms we are most protected.  Thank you God for your refuge and you everlasting love.  I love you Lord and thank you for loving me. 

